Korean Hanbok

A Hanbok is a traditional Korean dress reserved for formal or semi-formal events, including festivals, celebrations, and ceremonies. It consists of a Chima, a long wrap-around skirt, and a Jeogori, an upper garment similar to a long sleeve blouse or jacket. It is usually made with vibrant fabric and accompanied by neat hairstyles.

 

Since Christmas was coming up, our group begged for a day off from the training to go sightseeing. The masters decided to let us shop around a popular market, but dressed in the traditional Korean Hanbok.

 

After a tasty lunch, we headed over to a Hanbok store where we got our outfits. The girls had to slip on a hoop skirt before putting on the Chima. I decided to wear a rich, saturated color, so I selected the red and gold skirt. All of the Jeogori were long sleeved white jackets fastened with a tie. Mine was adorned with silver lace.

Once we were dressed the girls moved to the hairstyling station. It was very hard for me to choose a hairdo because I don’t like to wear my hair up. It feels uncomfortable and I only trust my parents to do my hair. But the hairstylist aced the hairdo I chose and it turned out beautiful.

Walking around the little town and markets, I looked for my secret Santa gift. After five hours of shopping, I settled on a bracelet and keychain. Our group also went into a coffee shop to get warm cups of tea and sweets.

We ended the day with an impromptu photo shoot in front of a temple.

One thought on “Korean Hanbok

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *